This elaborate Achievement shows how Arms have evolved over the centuries. In earlier times there was less difficulty and Arms were simpler, but intermarriage and other relationships meant that more had to be incorporated to celebrate family importance.
When the church was extended to the North during the period from 1903-05, and even before then when funds were being raised to do the work, one of the prime movers in the scheme was Sir Neil Kennedy Chochrane-Patrick of
The suggestion was made by the Rev. Henry Buchan that any members who wished to commemorate their families or even themselves could erect plaques of a uniform design on the fronts of the Old and New galleries. The design of the plaques was entrusted to Charles Stewart Still Johnston, the architect retained to design the extension.
None of these plaques are Heraldic, although of great merit, excepting the three in the center of the Old gallery, which all related to Sir Neilís Barony of Ladyland.
The Minister had his own personal memorial, which included the Burning Bush emblem of the Church of Scotland, but since that is only a detail of the whole device, it is not included here.
The panel on the left of the Ladyland group is that of Cochrane who bought the Ladyland estate from the 9th Earl of Eglinton in the 18th century.
The panels of the Ladyland group have been left uncoloured, but the Blazon is: Argent, on a chevron Gules between three boars heads erased Azure a mullet Or.
Refernce to Page 4 will show this Achievement four times in colour, on the Cochrane-Patrick Arms.