Earlier attempts involved people dragging chains and making observations with theodolites and compasses, which was a slow method, even if accurate.
With the science of photography from the air, mapping took a new step. The difficulties in this process were great. Winds and turbulence and engine vibration caused problems, and the fact that in an aerial photograph only one point on the ground is correctly mapped, that point on the line between the camera and the centre of gravity. The further away from that point the less accurate the picture is, and the angle has to be calculated mathematically to compensate. It is obvious that the aircrew must be highly skilled to take good photographs, and the ground staff likewise to interpret the results. Added to this the frail aircraft, as shown on the plaque, evolved from First War bombers such as the Vickers Vimy, which the panel suggests, posed a constant risk. Fliers were men of courage as well as skill. This was a passing phase in the science, for modern mapping is done on a constant basis from satellites equipped with such tools as radar which can penetrate cloud, and computer programmes which can do the mathematical corrections. Added to that, there is no turbulence in space.
The military were quick to exploit the new discipline to pinpoint troop movements and gun sites. Although fighter aircraft caught the public imagination their military importance was small in comparison with those of surveyors.
During the War a struggle developed about the control of the new Arm, when its value became clear. This came to a head when the Royal Air Force was created out of the Royal Flying Corps on April First 1918, and later in the year, the Chief of Air Staff, Hugh Trenchard, having won the battle to get out of Army control, was ordered not to use Army ranks, but to create his own. This resulted in ranks such as Pilot Officer, Flying Officer, Squadron Leader, etc. This event took place on August Fourth 1918.
One anomaly on the panel in the church is the use of an Army title fourteen years after that date. Wing Commander would be more appropriate than Major.
The quotation at the base of the panel "I bare you on eagles wings and brought you unto myself" is from the Book of Exodus Chapter 19, verse 4.
End Note. Page 10. The Knox Windows.
The Style in the "Public Register", "of Glengarnock" is unusual when used in the case of a knight. Territorial titles are more commonly used by holders of a Barony, or above. "Glengarnock" is the adjoining village created in the nineteenth century when the Ironworks were established, and it is not in any way associated with the Redheugh family. "Glen Garnock" might be appropriate, as the mansion of Redheugh is within sight of the river Garnock.
The Barony was bankrupt in 1677 and was acquired by Patrick Crawfurd, formerly Lindsay, who had adopted his new name on his marriage to Margaret Crawfurd.
The baronies were joined into one, the Barony of Kilbirnie, when Margaretís son John was created the First Viscount Garnock in 1707.
End Note. Page 11. Swindridgemuir Memorial.
This memorial is the last panel of its type, to date, erected in the church. The Swindridgemuir estate is in the Parish of Dalry, and the family were not worshippers in the church. The territorial connection is the reason for the placement.
It was erected by Sir Standish Crawfurd and Miss Crawfurd in memory of their parents. Their father was a lieutenant in the Royal Navy, and their mother the Honourable Isolda Caroline