The three windows in the East gable, of which two are shown here, commemorate Bryce Muir Knox who was born in 1855 and died in 1924. The windows were put in place in 1926 by his widow. He was of the family Knox who had been
thread manufacturers in the town since the end of the eighteenth century. He was an Elder in the Parish Kirk, which was the name of the Auld Kirk before the Union of 1929.
The family pew was in the West end of the nave, and is still known as the Redheugh Pew, after the estate and mansion house.
The windows are the work of James Ballantyne F.S.A.
Bryce Muir Knox of Glengarnock. Public Record of All Arms and Bearings in Scotland (Volume 22, folio 36) 14th March 1914. Quarterly First and Fourth, Azure, a falcon volant between three mullets all within an orle engrailed on the outer side (for Knox) Second and Third Ermine, five bars Azure overall a double-headed eagle displayed (for Mistress Agnes Dunlop Barr or Knox, wife of the petitioner). Crest; a falcon close, belled and jessed Proper. Motto: "MOVEO ET PROFICIOR".
Send End Note for more comment on these windows.